CoreCHI™, CoreCHI-Performance™, & CHI™

certifications are valid for four years.

CCHI established specific certification renewal requirements in order to assure that certified interpreters keep abreast of the profession’s development and, at a minimum, maintain their skills at the level achieved at certification. CCHI acknowledges that technological and logistical changes within the healthcare interpreter profession occur at a steady pace. At the same time, interpreting skills require continuous practice to be maintained at an adequate level. In order to determine the optimal length for the certification validity, CCHI Commissioners have considered several factors:

  • Input gathered from the Advisory Panel;
  • Speed of the profession’s change;
  • Review of the current requirements among the related interpreting specialties, such as court interpreter certification and certification of interpreters for the deaf;
  • Empirical data about deterioration of interpreting skills (e.g., especially of the simultaneous interpreting skills as researched by conference interpreters);
  • Rather continuous pace of organizational/policy changes in health care which requires interpreters to stay abreast of the new regulations and safety protocols that apply to the job in healthcare environment.

Review CCHI Certification Renewal Handbook carefully. For a brief overview, see CCHI’s Renewal At a Glance Guide.

If you have any questions, contact us at

  • Rationales for Certification Renewal Requirements

    Decisions regarding CCHI’s certification renewal requirements are reached after regular and thorough reviews of the professional practice, consultations with CCHI Advisors, and input from our certificants and other stakeholders.

    The following external factors contribute to the Commissioners’ decisions regarding the length for the certification validity and the type of certification renewal requirements.

    Pace of the profession’s change
    The profession established its first national code of ethics in 2004, and it first standards of practice in 2005 ( In 2016, the National Council on Interpreting in Health Care (NCIHC), after a number of focus group discussions, decided not to undertake the review of either documents since both were found relevant to the current situation. NCIHC published a more detailed guidance to its Advocacy standard in 2021.

    Pace of change regarding national language access policies
    Language Access regulations have been addressed by the government primarily in Executive Order 13166 (2000), the CLAS Standards (2000, 2013), and Section 1557 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (2010, 2016, 2020).

    Certification maintenance requirements of other interpreting specialties

    • Interpreters for the deaf (the certification credentials by RID are valid for 4 years; 80 CE hours are required)
    • Court interpreters (state certification requirements regarding credential validity vary from 1-3 years; 9-30 CE hours are required; various work/interpreting requirements)

    Research on deterioration of interpreting skills
    Commissioners conduct regular review of research on acquiring and maintaining interpreting skills. The current understanding is that interpreting skills, especially simultaneous, deteriorate if not utilized regularly.

  • Hours of Work

    Have 40 hours of work experience as a medical interpreter, within a four-year renewal cycle.

  • Continuing Education (CE)

    Complete 32 hours of CE in healthcare interpreting, with a minimum of 4 CE hours in performance based training every four-year cycle.

Subscribe and be the first to know.