April 26, 2021

CCHI is calling for certified Spanish interpreters to volunteer

We are calling for volunteers to become our Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) for the Standard Setting project of the CHI™-Spanish exam! Please fill out the application below (choose the “CHI™ test development” category) and submit it by May 16, 2021.

CCHI regularly updates the content of its exams and conducts studies on setting the passing standards for the new exam forms. It is time to set a passing standard for the new forms of the oral performance CHI™-Spanish exam.

We are looking for volunteer Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) who will work remotely from May 25 until June 8, 2021. CCHI will provide all the necessary orientation and training via video conference calls and online collaboration tools. All tasks will also be performed via remote tools.

Who should apply?

Our goal is to convene a diverse panel of SMEs, certified CHI™-Spanish interpreters, who represent Spanish interpreters in the U.S. in a comprehensive manner. We are looking for volunteers – practicing Spanish interpreters who have CHI™ certification (this requirement is mandatory) – who:

  • have various years of experience – from 1 to 10+
  • work in different modalities and different healthcare settings
  • represent different regional varieties of Spanish
  • may also be managers (but still practicing interpreters)
  • are not trainers of introductory interpreter courses (but may be trainers of continuing education courses).

What are your commitments (if selected)?

1. Sign CCHI’s Confidentiality and Content Security Agreements. (Review our SME Participation Policies prior to applying.)

2. Be available for the following video conference meetings via Microsoft Teams and Zoom:

May 25 – two-hour call at 7-9 pm ET/ 6-8 pm CT/ 4-6 pm PT
June 1 – four-hour call at 5:30-9:30 pm ET/ 4:30-8:30 pm CT/ 2:30-6:30 pm PT
June 7 – four-hour call at 5:30-9:30 pm ET/ 4:30-8:30 pm CT/ 2:30-6:30 pm PT

Please apply only if you can participate in all of these calls (full duration) on these dates.

3. Be able to complete an independent online assignment between June 2 and June 5, which requires about 4 hours of work.

4. This is a volunteer project. CCHI will not pay any honorarium for participation in this project. However, CCHI will grant 4 PB CE instructional and 2 CE non-instructional hours for participation.

How to apply?

Click here to download CCHI’s SME Application in MS Word format.

Please fill it out completely (choose the “CHI™ test development” category), and to submit, email the application AND your current full resume, to [email protected] by 05/16/21. Only electronically submitted, complete applications will be considered.

If you have any questions about this project or about the SME application, contact us at [email protected].

You will be notified if you are selected to participate in this project by May 19, 2021.

Thank you for your interest and support!

Subscribe and be the first to know.